lost dreams and the redemptive power of music

So the title is a quote regarding the movie The Soloist.  Powerful.  Powerful film.  “The film explores such issues as homelessness and mental illness, as well as the healing nature of music.”  Robert Downey, Jr. always gets to me and Jamie Foxx was just incredible in this movie.  Someone I love dearly was on the streets for a while until a friend took him in.  I walk past homeless people often in town.  My thoughts after watching this movie were that if my biggest concerns were how I’m going to pay my bills to salvage my credit rating, or how to scrounge up enough money to have a working vehicle, maybe I’ve got nothing much to complain about.

soloistSo I felt prompted to do something.  Because no matter how tight things are, I believe I can.  I went to the website mentioned in the film takepart.com/thesoloist and found five things anyone can do.  Making eye contact and saying hello is a small thing which costs nothing, but wouldn’t have occurred to me normally.   I feel guilty that if I can’t wave a magic wand and make their lives better then it’s better not to be involved.  I want to do more, but I’m limited, so I do nothing.  I’m sharing here hoping that if I take the little I can do and get others to add to it, I’ll make a difference — to someone.

So all that said.  New Horizons in Manchester NH runs a soup kitchen and shelter.  They are currently in need of:

Baby Wipes
Baby Formula
Peanut Butter
Jelly
Baked Beans
Macaroni & Cheese
Canned Goods
Tomato Sauce
Pasta
Recycled paper and plastic
grocery bags
Adult Sized Back Packs

Coffee
# 10 Can Green Beans
# 10 Can Peas
# 10 Can Carrots
Sugar
Creamer
Salt
Margarine
Spaghetti Sauce
Diapers   (Lg.sizes 4,5 & 6)

Shoes
Disposable Razors
Bath Towels
Nail Clippers
Soap
Personal Size Toiletries
Shampoo
Toothpaste
Toothbrushes
Underwear
Plastic Shower Curtain Liners
Laundry Detergent
Stamps
Date Books
Note Books
Pens
Gloves

Stamps

I have no time to give right now, but I can share the volunteer needs New Horizons has in case you do:

Call (603) 668-1877 ext. 122 or e-mail for more information  or to make arrangements to volunteer Kitchen.Pantry.Manager@newhorizonsfornh.org

New Horizons is currently looking for volunteers in the following areas:
Van Drivers for weekdays 8:00 a.m. – 11:00a.m.; Soup Kitchen Meal Preparation; Soup Kitchen Meal Serving; Food Pantry Food Sorting; Food Pantry Food Distribution;  Special Projects

So the next time I’m listening to Brahms or Bach or mostly Beethoven I’m going to remember that God loves us all equally and gave music as a gift to all of us.  Hopefully it will be a reminder to do what I can, however little that may be.

Beethoven011. Volunteer in your community

2. Make eye contact and say hello

3. Learn more about mental illnes

4. Donate clothes and shoes

5. Help children experiencing homelessness

6 Comments

Filed under Charity, Music

6 responses to “lost dreams and the redemptive power of music

  1. snydeen

    Printed out my list and although things are tight for us right now realized there are several things we have around the house that we could share. Pasta, grocery bags, macaroni and cheese and there might even be a spare back pack. I forget who said, “Do all the good you can, for all the while you can…” or something to that effect.

  2. snydeen

    So I went to the blog post “Quibbling Over Doctrine” and found this great quote…”As the factions quibble over theological trends, souls are going lost.” Wow. powerful stuff, and something to think about. We need to get busy doing things for our fellow man instead of talking it all to death.

  3. Youre the woman Jenny! You are such a great example for me! I am going to schedule some hours for me and the older kids this fall at the kitchen. You just reminded me to get in gear and do it.

  4. Oh and I totally want to see that movie!

  5. Dj Goody

    Not gonna lie momma, I really do enjoy reading your blogs

  6. snydeen

    Thank you son!

Please Leave a Reply

