we now return you to your regularly scheduled life…

So… last day of vacation and I’m trying not to ruin it by thinking about it being the last day of vacation.  I woke up with Hilary Weeks playing in my head…

“If I only had today I’d hold you and listen. I’d memorize every detail of your face.  I’d tell you I loved you over and over, and I’d let the dishes sit in the sink (for once I’d just let the phone ring). Then I’d remind you of forever and how our love will never change.  If I only had todaaaaay.”

Much as I love that song and remind myself to spend quality time with my family and friends I also know that I can’t let the dishes sit in the sink (they’re overflowing) or for that matter ignore the laundry.  Alan will have to work on the cars today.  Yes plural.  We’ve been so blessed with minimal repairs and Alan’s willingness to work on the brakes and any other part he can reasonably reach, but it’s looking like we’ll have to cough up $$s for parts now.  Like it or not.  Wouldn’t it be great if you could buy a car and know that you had x number of years without  having to do any repairs.  Just regular maintenance?

I do plan to spend some fun time with the family.  Alan and Megan are sleeping in after their marathon of Lost episodes last night, and Matthew’s probably in his room playing the keyboard or guitar (sadly not his violin) — so I’ll gather them up later today and find something fun to do together.  Garrett is entertaining a friend so I’ll leave him be.

Sometime before the day ends I’ll sew up the one bag I cut out over vacation and scrapbook at least one pile of photos.  It would be lovely to finish off the day with a manicure and pedicure at a salon, but I’ll have to do it myself.  At least it’ll be some nice quiet time before returning to my regularly scheduled life.

1 Comment

Filed under Chores/Housework, Music

One response to “we now return you to your regularly scheduled life…

  1. Everything needs repairs in my life right now. Door fell of a cupboard, stove cracked, just bought a new dishwasher……uhhgghhhh

Please Leave a Reply

