what I truly want right now

Okay, as compared to world peace, orphans in Somalia or tsunamis in Samoa I’ve got not a thing in the world to complain about, but am I going to let that stop me?  Nope. 

Alan’s car is down.  So we have ONE vehicle.  On the surface I thought of this as no big deal because he works nights.  The reality is being a little more than that however.  My typical day this week has gone like this:

5:30 am wake up

6:10 drive the boys to seminary

6:30 drive south and pick up Alan

7:30 return home do last minute chores at home before heading to work

12:00 return home, eat lunch (jump on Facebook, duh) and pick up Megan

1:00 hustle back to work for meetings (missed the one on Tuesday – ugh)

2:45 drop Megan at work

3:00 back to work and/or meetings

5:00 finish up and head home to give the car to Alan

5:30 Tues and Thurs Alan takes the boys to soccer practice

6:45 Wednesday Alan picks Megan up from work on the way up to Scouts

9:00 Alan and the kids return home and I drive him down to work, head home to bed and get up and do it all again.

I’m tired.  So is Alan.  He hasn’t had enough time to do any real work on the car and I have this feeling it’s not something he’ll be able to do without specialized tools etc.  This could get ugly.

I have guilt over not blogging.  I’m not blogging because I have guilt over falling off the Holiday Grand Plan already (Week 4!).  Then this morning I was reading Simple Abundance (love that book) and found this…

When we cannot do it all at the same time, we are meant to only do some of it.  In order to find out what the “some” is to be, we need to ask, “What is it I truly want right now?  What is it I truly need? How do I get it?  How much does it cost in life currency?

So I’ve given that some thought and I KNOW I need to miss Scouts tonight.  I try to NEVER miss the courts of honor, but I need the quiet time.  I have knots in my stomach and the beginnings of a headache.  Yeah, time to chill.  The boys will forgive me missing one of these and I’ll ask Megan to take pictures.

So enough whining for one night.  I’m going home to work the Holiday Grand Plan because I am so craving order and peace in my home.  Then I might take a nap before I drive Alan to work.  I think I figured out what I truly want right now.

sunrise-ocean-view-beach-2-thumb

2 Comments

Filed under Chores/Housework, Family, Uncategorized

2 responses to “what I truly want right now

  1. Jenny, do you need a ride to AntiquiTeas on Friday night? I’m volunteering to provide you with pick-up and drop-off. If you don’t mind a little dust on the dashboard and crumbs in the crevices. (Haven’t gotten around to the fall-vaccum yet.) Really. I’m serious. Just shoot me an email at lovingfit (at) gmail (dot) com.

  2. What you truly want sounds like someone else to do the driving. Man girl- you are bustin’ it! I shot tons of pic at the Court of Honor-so no worries!

Please Leave a Reply

