railroad crossing

I hate It When Exercise Is The Answer… Emily Watts

“I get that way sometimes.  I assume that my way of doing things is right, or I wouldn’t have picked it in the first place… I have to send a red flag up whnever I find myself in a difference of opinion with someone else.  My default response is to strategize all the ways I can defend my position and prove that I’m right.”  “One of the most useful phrases I’ve learned to use when occasions like this aris is, “Help me understand why you feel the way you do.”

Exercise #24:  Cultivating Humility

The next time you feel tempted to line up all your arguments and blast another person with the evidence of how right you are, try instead to ask first, “Help me understand why you feel the way you do.”  Then, if you end up being right after all, you can preserve the relationship and have  your opinion supported openly rather than accepted grudgingly.  And if you were wrong… well you just dodged an oncoming train!

The worst is being seriously ticked about something, marshaling your arguments and then realizing you were wrong, but being too angry and/or proud to back down at that point.  That would be me during a bad disagreement.  While I’ve gotten minutely better at stopping to think or count before I blow, now I’ll add to that brief pause the request for help to understand.  Even if I’m not really listening at first perhaps it will be enough of a breather for me to rethink why I’m bothering to argue in the first place!

4 Comments

Filed under Attitude

4 responses to “railroad crossing

  1. I think I will print this off as a re-read…I simply needed a reminded in this thanks

  2. This is a topic which is close to my heart… Take care!

    Where are your contact details though?

  3. Hi, I do believe this is a great website. I stumbledupon it 😉 I am going to return once
    again since i have book-marked it. Money and freedom
    is the greatest way to change, may you be rich and continue to help others.

Please Leave a Reply

