hyacinths, wood fires and bowls of violets

So, I kinda got to liking the format of responding to Emily Watts challenges in my blog, so I’m going to keep it rolling this year with Sarah Ban Breathnach’s (SBB in the future) Simple Abundance:  A Daybook of Comfort and Joy (since I’m reading it again anyway!).

So let us begin with some of her quotes.  I adore quotes…  Easy ways to remember little bits of wisdom.

“China tea [or substitute herbal peppermint if you’re LDS], the scent of hyacinths, wood fires and bowls of violets — that is my mental picture of an agreeable February afternoon.”  Constance Spry

February arrives cold, wet and gray, her gifts disguised for only the most discerning spirits to see.  Gentle is our path.  Gratitude is the thread we weave into the fabric of our daily lives this month, giving thanks for our simply abundant lives and asking for the gift of one thing more:  grateful hearts. SBB

hyacinths-realsimple.com

myspace.beehivetearoom

So while I’m on the subject of gratitude let me just throw this in there.  I woke from the worst (and longest) dream of my youngest in hospital and not being able to get to him.  I am SOOOOOO grateful for the health of my family!!

2 Comments

Filed under Blogging, Gratitude

2 responses to “hyacinths, wood fires and bowls of violets

  1. Jan

    I like February because it’s not January anymore!

  2. love love love the real simple photo

Please Leave a Reply

