digging deep

SBB – Simple Abundance

“Today, become willing to remember.”  “… you have lived many lives, and each one has left an indelible mark on your soul.  I’m not referring to reincarnation, I’m referring to the episodic way in which our lives evolve: childhood, adolescence, college years or early career, marriages, motherhood, perhaps life as a single mother, widowhood and onward.  At each stage in our life we have both laughter and tears, but more important we develop personal preferences.”

So, given all that, I’m going in search of what brought me “moments of happiness and contentment in my past lives.”  So, this afternoon, I’m going to pour a cup of herbal tea and take a trip back in time listening to old music looking at old photos at various stages of my life and lingering on the good times looking for a pattern of things that bring me joy.

It’s interesting that my lesson in Relief Society today is on moral agency and Sarah has hit the part where she’s talking about considering the choices that we’ve made in life.  Were they the right ones?  How did I make them (heart, mind and gut)?  Was there something I didn’t choose that I wish I had?  Then she says the most wonderful thing:

The delay of our dreams does not mean that they have been denied.

She goes on to suggest journaling about searching our past for clues as to how to live in the present.  So given that I want to resurrect some old dreams this sounds like an idea worth trying.  Finally she ends with a great quote from Margot Fonteyn, “We tend to think it is the major events that mark our lives, when really it is the minor moments that resonate in memory.”

1 Comment

Filed under Simple Abundance

One response to “digging deep

  1. Absolutely love this “We tend to think it is the major events that mark our lives, when really it is the minor moments that resonate in memory.”

    I think that is the best thing about writing in our journal is that you can see how much God has guided and directed you!

Please Leave a Reply

