making your own imprint

my china - Belle Fleur patter

Simple Abundance – SBB

Write down twenty specifics for your ideal home from architectural features to furnishings that are “must haves” for you. 

 daily house help to do the floors, vacuum and dust; built-in bookshelves; fireplaces in the kitchen, livingroom and master bedroom; huge dine in kitchen with the classic three point set up; master bedroom and bath with strapwork; great room for a living room with a library loft area; home theater room with couches and built ins for movies; acres and acres of land mostly wooded; top of the line plumbing and electric with ambient heat in the bathroom flooring; turret rooms for the grandkids to play in including skeeball and air hockey and giant screen for video games; work room for Alan near the garage and a craft room for Jenny near the kitchen ; bedrooms large enough for each of our kids to bring their families home at the same time; gazebo and English flower garden and vegetable garden; small solarium/ greenhouse; double ovens; remote window blinds; security system; three stall garage.

Next imagine that your closet and drawers are empty.  You need to fill them.  What are the first ten things you would either hang up or put away?  Choose from things you already have or buy entirely new things.

I’m only keeping my favorite black long sleeved tee shirts, my favorite black Old Navy sweater and my black jeans.  Everything else is getting replaced starting with a fabulous suit, beautiful blouse and a gorgeous dress, then lots of new shoes and WNTW casual clothes.

 Your kitchen cabinets are bare.  You need to buy new china, flatware, glasses and linen for everyday use and for entertaining.  The details are your preferences.

I would keep all of the entertaining pieces I currently have (Classic Wedgwood, an Easter present from Alan), but I’d toss out the everyday stuff and start over with something clean and simple.  Maybe all white china?  I’d keep my same flatware, but maybe buy new so it’s no so scratched.  Linens I would keep what I have, but perhaps buy more!

 “The soap in the bathroom, the flowers in the garden, the book on the bedside table are all strong symbols of a life in progress”  Charlotte Moss  By paying attention to the details – your authentic gestures – you give expression to the most personal of all the arts:  making your own imprint on life.

I wondered at my anger years ago at receiving my mother in law’s china.  What should have been a great blessing and a wonderful gesture felt more like I was being strangled in someone else’s idea of what my home should be.  I’m also guessing there was some disappointment and ingratitude stemming from having  nothing from my own mother in my home.  So, while I have grown to love the idea of her giving me the Currier and Ives dinnerware she collected over many years, I recognize that it’s not a pattern I would probably have chosen.  I’ve learned to enjoy using it on various holidays.  All things in their time I suppose.

1 Comment

Filed under Shopping, Simple Abundance

One response to “making your own imprint

  1. Love your honesty with yourself…and I love the idea that you are trying to find your authentic self. Mine has been lost for 9 months…..I am working towards finding me again

Please Leave a Reply

