100 more things I love (in groups of 10… or so)

10 famous lines from books or movies  (Okay, the first five anyway…)

It is a truth universally acknowledged that a single man in possession of a good fortune, must be in want of a wife.

Pride and Prejudice – Jane Austen.  Oh come on.  Even if you didn’t say it, I’ll be you thought it at least once.

Hey! If any of you are looking for any last-minute gift ideas for me, I have one. I’d like Frank Shirley, my boss, right here tonight. I want him brought from his happy holiday slumber over there on Melody Lane with all the other rich people and I want him brought right here, with a big ribbon on his head, and I want to look him straight in the eye and I want to tell him what a cheap, lying, no-good, rotten, four-flushing, low-life, snake-licking, dirt-eating, inbred, overstuffed, ignorant, blood-sucking, dog-kissing, brainless, d***less, hopeless, heartless, fat-ass, bug-eyed, stiff-legged, spotty-lipped, worm-headed sack of monkey s**t he is! Hallelujah! Holy s**t! Where’s the Tylenol?  –

National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation (1989) – I can’t help it.  I watch this every year, and every year I laugh hard enough to cry!

Vizzini: HE DIDN’T FALL? INCONCEIVABLE.
Inigo Montoya: You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means.

This is a family favorite and comes in handy when someone’s done something goofy.

National Lampoon’s European Vacation:

Clark Griswold:  [Reapetedly saying it while he can’t turn left] Hey look kids, there’s Big Ben, and there’s Parliament.

I didn’t care for this movie so much (I think it got a little crude) and haven’t seen it in years, but it’s our family line when we’re lost.

Anne of Green Gables:

“To despair is to deny God”

Marilla Cuthbert to Anne Shirley

Monty Python and the Search for the Holy Grail:

“Do you see the violence inherent in the system?  Help! Help! I’m being repressed!”

I can’t help but love Monty Python.  We use this one a lot (kiddingly of course).

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, Movies

Please Leave a Reply

