April Harrison and Isabel Wilkerson

So, February is Black History Month.  To be completely honest I think we should also have a Native American History Month, and a Latino History Month, and an Asian History Month, but that’s just me.  In any event, Barnes and Noble has a new bag.  I love their bags, and in this instance it’s from an artist that I didn’t know which is really cool.  I really like her work and it’s not something I would normally be into.  It reminds me of Klimt.  You should check out her gallery here…  http://www.aprilsongallery.com/   She is self taught and really rather intriguing.

  The Barnes and Noble bag is here…  http://www.barnesandnoble.com/special_offer.asp?r=1&PID=26657&cm_em=snydeen@nu.com&cm_mmc=Member-_-This_Week-_-110201_MM01_THISWEEK-_-thihomtote

So in keeping with this being Black History Month, I’ve found a great book I need to pick up and read.  The Warmth of Other Suns:  The Epic Story of America’s Great Migration by Isabel Wilkerson.  Check it out here http://search.barnesandnoble.com/The-Warmth-of-Other-Suns/Isabel-Wilkerson/e/9780679444329/?cds2Pid=26690  I love the poetry woven through the first pages (and presumably throughout the book) like this piece: 

I was leaving the South

To fling myself into the unknown…

I was taking a part of the South

To transplant in alien soil,

To see if it could grow differently,

If it could drink of new and cool rains,

Bend in strange winds,

Respond to the warmth of other suns

And, perhaps, to bloom.

–Richard Wright

and be sure to read the paragraph beginning on the bottom of page 14.  It sure got me hooked!!

5 Comments

Filed under Art, Books, History

5 responses to “April Harrison and Isabel Wilkerson

  1. j. mitchell

    Hispanic Heritage Month is 9/15 to 10/15. Asian Pacific Islander Heritage month is May. Those are the 2 I know of but the others can probably be googled.

  2. snydeen

    Well cool. I’ll have to add them to my calendar and google to see who else has a month!

  3. Christopher

    I kinda do like the style on that bag.

  4. snydeen

    Okay, the reading list is getting stupid long, so instead I bought a video (there’s a book as well but I just bought the DVD). Gifted Hands: The Ben Carson Story. Cuba Gooding, Jr. plays Dr. Carson, a renowned brain surgeon with hard luck roots in Detroit, but with a mom who believed in him. Yeah. This is going to be good!!

Please Leave a Reply

