haven

so… we got snow on Saturday as predicted and lost power as expected.   I did not however expect quite as much snow as we got, or that we would be without power as long as we were.  So this is what we woke up to on Sunday and Alan (mostly) and Garrett eventually shoveled us out.  I also did not expect to be able to sleep at home, and yet we did for two nights.  It was blessedly chilly although I was perfectly snuggly warm under all my blankets.  We slept at a hotel Monday night and I actually found it to be too hot.  Go figure.

Got rerouted around all the downed trees and power lines but we managed to travel around a bit.  The boys were busy so Alan and I went to a movie Sunday afternoon only to have the projector burn up the film right toward the end.  Good thing it was HP and we’d seen it already!

Ordered a new dress I saw in Lucky magazine that seemed perfect for travel and could easily be dressed up or down.  We went home to pack last night and I found that it had come in and was over the moon excited.  I look positively dreadful in it.  Back to the drawing board on that one.  Also meant a trip back home after I took G-Man to school Tuesday morning so that I could find something to wear to work — in the dark, with a massive laundry pile and not able to wear heels, and not willing to wear a dress after all…  Found a reasonably decent outfit and hauled it on.

I took a quick look around the house (nearly in the dark) this morning and was feeling overwhelmed at the amount of work waiting for us when the power comes back up.  I think to put it in a nutshell, it’s past time to get our shit together.  So while I’d like everything to miraculously take care of itself it’s glaringly obvious that that’s not going to happen. So time to purge, purge, purge because I’m sick of moving stuff around and trying to find homes for it all.  I guess some definite good can come of being temporarily homeless after all – in my case, a renewed dedication to make home a haven.

3 Comments

Filed under Chores/Housework, Clothes, Personal Preparedness, Winter

3 responses to “haven

  1. Janice Matthews

    WOW! I’m so sorry you are STILL without power 😦 !

  2. Hello Sweetheart, I just wanted to pop by and say a huge thank you for the lovely encouraging comments you have left for me at Brocante recently… they really do my heart good and as always, I am so very, very grateful…

    May the power be back very soon and every dress you try on make you feel as beautiful as you are…

    Thank you.x

Please Leave a Reply

