Daily December 16

[photos later…]

so… it’s Friday…  and they all rejoiced.  We’re coming around the bend to the last of the gift buying, wrapping, mailing and the like.  Time to shift gears.  Today is the annual potluck and Yankee swap.  We are not a close department at work, but the holidays and having fun always seem to make things better.  I’m glad I wasn’t around when they had parties with alcohol and lots of embarassing moments.  Ugh.

So tonight I’ll go home and eat grilled cheese and soup and begin to decorate.  It’s so nice to be hitting this point with so many days left to go before Christmas Day.  Most years we decorate the first weekend in December, but some years we’ve nearly been up to Christmas Eve before we got it together.  I’m hoping it means this year we can really get into the spirit of the season. 

To that end, I’m going to call a moratorium on regular television Christmas Eve, Christmas Day and Boxing Day.  Yep, nothing allowed but Christmas movies, specials and well, probably sports.  Hopefully I can talk the hubby into reading Dickens to the family  by candlelight.

The muppet will be home tomorrow.  The ipod is charged.  The homemaking plan is in place.  All is right with the world.

1 Comment

Filed under Attitude, Chores/Housework, Christmas, Decorating, Work

One response to “Daily December 16

  1. New tradition idea from your post: reading Dickens by candlelight! L-O-V-E it! (He is my husband’s least favorite author, though.) Perhaps I can take the idea on the road and read to my brother’s kids? Yup. I think that’s what I’ll do. And I’ll try out my reading on my boy, who’s all grown up and about to be married. He’ll be home for Christmas Eve. Thanks, Jenny! And well wishes with the holiday festivities around your hearth. So happy your Muppet will be home soon.

Please Leave a Reply

