travel

Angela Hughes photography

is one of my favorite things.  I don’t think I’ll be doing much of it this year, but I have HUGE plans for next year.  Italy for our 25th anniversary, New York (of course) and Arizona to see my brother and a dear friend who’s moving there this summer. 

Italy is being tough to decide on where to go.  I would normally prefer to pick one place and spend a lot of time getting to know it, but the reality is that it’s taking me over 50 years to get to Italy, so on the off chance I don’t make it back there, I want to make sure I see everything I want to see.  On the other hand, I don’t have an entire summer or longer to see everything.  So.  How to fit in Venice (I just need one day to see the sights and ride a gondola and I’m good), Verona (Romeo and Juliet), Padua (Kiss Me Kate), Florence, Pisa (Just for the picture holding up the tower), Siena(Letters to Juliet), Montepulciano and Volterra (Twilight), Rome, Pompeii, Positano  (Only You)…  I could go on and on.  I’m guessing I’ll settle for Rome, Florence and Venice with a side trip to Verona.  Gee, poor thing.  Hahahhahaa

Of course I never tire of New York, but I still have a list of places to visit…  The Cloisters, Columbia University, The Natural History Museum, The Seaport Museum, The Guggenheim (only once – I’m not a huge fan of most modern art, but I think the building is cool.)  The Jewish Tenement Museum and quite a few movie sites.  Oh and I’ve still got a few places to eat that are a must (I’ve done Sardi’s, the Plaza, and the Russian Tea Room).  I missed out on Tavern on the Green, but that still leaves La Cirque, Latece and the Rainbow Room.

4 Comments

Filed under Movies, Travel, Twilight

4 responses to “travel

  1. We’re also thinking of a trip to Italy in 2013 – and yes, it’s tough choosing an area of the country to visit – I’m overwhelmed by the amazing options!

  2. jan matthews

    How excellent for you to at last get to Italy!! When I was in high school, we did an italy trip and saw a taste of everything. I don’t know how we did, but it was with a tour. We saw Florence, Pisa, Venice, Rome, Pompei, Naples and spent one day or overnight in each city, done in one week. It boggles my mind now. The last trip, we stayed in Florence and took a tour bus out to Pisa, but we did not have to stick with the tour guide, just the bus. We took a city bus up to Fiesole, which has etruscan and Roman ruins. We are going to Siena this year, which is smack dab between Rome and Venice. I think the secret is the trains, how fast they can get you around, so we haven’t decided on the day trips yet, though certainly Florence is always a thought. My plan is do a thorough search for medieval Siena, though. I did not mean for this to go on for so long, but I am so excited for you and Alan!

    • Thanks Jan. My favorite picture of you and David is in Florence. I can’t wait to see your pictures from Siena! Yes. We are relying on the trains. They were awesome in Germany and France, so I’ve got my fingers crossed for Italy.

Please Leave a Reply

