top tens

I love these…  I got boosted today by a Freshly Pressed post – http://blog.paxholley.net/2012/06/07/my-top-10-movies-featuring-time-travel/ – I love plain ol’ top tens, but since movies are the topic at hand, let’s do this!!

Okay, so let me start by saying I’m a total movie nut.  If I could be the next Siskel or Ebert I would be a happy hiker.  How did they get that gig?  I mean really, that’s like food critic.  Who do these people know and can I meet them?!  I digress..  The husband and I spent the weekend doing one of our favorite things…  now, now, get your mind out of the gutter, we went to see movies.  We had no money to celebrate our anniversary (#24) and fit in a wake and a funeral and (not at all planned, but) a trip up to retrieve our youngest from his girlfriend’s family camp in Laconia.  (I mean really?!  You couldn’t plan that any better son?!)  Sorry, rabbit trail.  We used movie passes we had from Christmas, from his birthday and that I had bought just in case and went to see, Men In Black III, Snow White and the Huntsman and The Avengers (again) and we rented John Carter of Mars on pay per view.  Fun!!  I’ve now seen virtually everything that’s currently playing at the theaters except the movies I have no interest in – The Dictator (yuck), or Battleship (which I wouldn’t mind, but I can wait for it to go to the half price theater).

Top Ten 2012 movies I can’t wait to see?!  Brave, The Dark Knight, The Bourne Legacy (although I’ll miss Matt Damon), Breaking Dawn, Part II (no surprise there), Les Miserables, and The Hobbit – Not sure what else is coming out, but since I’ll likely see Breaking Dawn a million times that probably counts for the other 4 spots.

Top Ten Romance Movies:  The Quiet Man, The Holiday, The Ghost and Mrs. Muir, You’ve Got Mail, One Night with the King, Twilights, Somewhere In Time, Pride and Prejudices, Roman Holiday,  Sabrina (Julia Ormond), Pretty Woman (okay it’s 11 so shoot me… I could easily keep going in this category!)

Top Ten Action Movies:  Lara Croft Tomb Raider, Raiders of the Lost Ark (III), R.E.D., Taken, Dark Knight series, The Expendables, The Matrix, Transporter 2, The Avengers , Bourne Trilogy

Top Ten Dramas: John Q, Pursuit of Happyness, Sophie’s Choice, The Boy in the Striped Pajamas, I Remember Mama, Schindler’s List, A Beautiful Life, Count of Monte Cristo, 12 Angry Men, It’s a Wonderful Life

Top Ten Musicals:  Fiddler on the Roof, Hello Dolly, The Unsinkable Molly Brown, Funny Girl, Funny Face, The Court Jester, The Inspector General, Meet Me In St. Louis, Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory, Beauty and the Beast

Top Ten Comedies:  National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation, Galaxy Quest, Uncle Buck, Dutch, Kingdom Come, The Back up Plan, Rush Hour, The Blues Brothers, Monty Python and the Holy Grail, Toy Story

3 Comments

Filed under Family, Having Fun, Movies, Twilight

3 responses to “top tens

  1. jan matthews

    Some ideas: Start a movie blog. Youtube you and your siskel or ebert of choice–I think you’d be a great movie diva! 🙂 Dress in costume, like for Gatsy…You never know what catches on in the intertubes…:)

  2. I don’t picture me on You Tube, but I might open another blog just for my movie listings… (recognizing I’ll be another among mnay.) What a fun idea Jan! Thanks!

  3. So can’t wait for Les Miserable….sad the Matt Damon won’t be around…that won’t be the same!

Please Leave a Reply

