E. B. White

Believe it or not, yesterday would have been his 113th birthday!

I can’t believe how long it’s been since I’ve read Charlotte’s Web!  I have to say it was one of the saddest books I’ve ever read.  Technically heard.  My absolute all time favorite teacher Mrs. Crowley, read it to us in sixth grade after lunch.  It was just wonderful.  I remember being anxious about poor Wilbur and then truly heartbroken over Charlotte.  I never caught until recently that Garth Williams was the same person who did the illustrations for the Little House books which I also loved.

I didn’t make the connection years later when I went off to college and picked up The Elements of Style to help me with my paper writing – funny that, only figured that out recently.

Leave a comment

Filed under Books

Please Leave a Reply

