Italy vs Romania

I’m not talking about the Olympics or a new war that’s broken out.  Nothing major.  I just got Romania: An Illustrated History in the mail the same day that A Month of Italy: Rediscovering the Art of Vacation arrived.  I have to say, that while bits and pieces of the Romanian history are interesting it’s a hard read.  I intend to persevere, but have decided to switch countries for my month of learning about a foreign country.  What better country to pick than one I’m already in love with?  Yes I believe America to be the best place in the world and I love it with all my heart, but I’m talking about Italy here.  I’ve been going nuts trying to figure out the right combination of relaxing and enjoying the “real” Italy, and going all out tourist so I don’t miss much.  The compromise is to do a week long quick peek of the major cities on a tour (which I’m sure is the equivalent of seeing New York, Dallas, Las Vegas, San Francisco and Chicago minus the distances in a week), and then take another week to just settle in a single spot and just take it in.  If the single spot ends up being Rome (which is most likely) then we’re just going to pick one little corner of it.

The premise of A Month of Italy: Rediscovering the Art of Vacation is taking a full month to slow down, disconnect from the busyness of life and connect with the people around you.   We’re not yet at a place that we can do that, but we’re definitely going to take two full weeks and do the best we can with that.

2 Comments

Filed under Books, Travel

2 responses to “Italy vs Romania

  1. I LLLLOOOOVVVVEEEE the new look of your blog…and your family looks amazing…I’ll be back later…when I have a moment to really enjoy your posts…

Please Leave a Reply

