Happy Birthday Julia!

So today would have been Julia Child’s 100th birthday.

I’m still pretty disappointed that Julie Powell never got to meet Julia Child.  I think that was one of the saddest parts of Julie & Julia was the scene where she gets the message from the reporter that Julia doesn’t care for her blog.  Okay, the other really moving parts were any of the scenes with Julia and Paul.  48 years – what an amazing couple.  I bought My Life In France and once I get through some of the other must reads on my night stand I’m going to read it.  I’m also planning to pick up Bob Spitz’s book “Dearie” to add to my 2013 list.  http://bobspitz.com/dearie/

I have to say Julie Powell did a lot to kick start Julia’s popularity back into the forefront of American cooks.  Not to imply that she was ever gone, just lingering a bit in the background.  I remember watching her show, The French Chef along with The Galloping Gourmet  and thinking  it was a little odd to have a show on the television about cooking, but enjoying it nonetheless.

2 Comments

Filed under Books, Cooking, Dreams, Marriage

2 responses to “Happy Birthday Julia!

  1. Linda Reilly

    Jenny, thanks for the reminder of Julia’s 100th birthday. Happy birthday to a dear and treasured lady.

  2. jan matthews

    I loved Galloping Gourmet when I was a kid, he was always one step away from disaster with a laugh–sad he was probably not sober at the time, but what’s a kid know? He was a heck of a lot funnier than my ma and grandma teaching me to cook! 😉

Please Leave a Reply

