race your mouse day…

yep, that’s what today is.  who knew?

Funny thing.  I uploaded the 100+ photos from the Muppet’s camera onto the Walmart site and then never ordered them.  So imagine my surprise when I got there on Friday et voila, no photos…  a wee bit embarassing.  I slunk back out of the store and went home to find something else to work on.  I brought along my 31 days to finally get them in a scrapbook and realized I never finished my 31 days writing exercises.  Three more to go.  So I’ll have to get on that and then print out the related photos.  As much as I hate dragging my stuff around it’s always good for me to go out to scrapbook.  It gets me jump started again.

Found this while putting 31 Days together and thought it was worth sharing:

DAY NINETEEN| Listen


I listen to the Holy Ghost telling me to pray.

I listen to the woman on the other end of the phone telling me she lives in California and the number must be from my missionary calling home on Mother’s Day because, “No she didn’t call me.”

 I listen to the alarm on my phone reminding me to get up and get going.

 I listen to Garrett telling me he needs a ride to school,  and think about how much he’s hurting.  His best friend’s father died yesterday morning. 

 I listen to my van that is telling it’s age.

 I listen to the morning radio talk about how attractive men are based on whether or not they are walking a big dog or a little dog.

 I listen to the drilling and hammering and clunking in the office as the rebuild to fit us all in.

 I listen to the voices in the cubicles around me in a fuzzy way trying not to really hear.

 I listen to the click of my keyboard.

 I listen to my ipod and let Josh Groban soothe my weary heart.

I listen to Alan repeat the information over again. I try to be present and not tune him out and just be thankful that he talks and think about the joy he gets from the repetition of those words.

I listen to myself – to the positive & the negative – to the voice that’s trying to figure it all out and the voice that tells me it’s all going to be okay.

I’m listening to Randy Travis at this moment – Three Wooden Crosses is on the ipod and I’m reminded that my oldest – Bear is working at Gillette Stadium and they had Tim McGraw and Kenny Chesney in concert this weekend.  He’s not even a country music fan and he enjoyed the concert, so that means I would have LOVED it.  I have this little group of songs I added from a web site I cannot find now and I’m bumming.  So if anyone knows it please pass it along.  It’s basically a middle aged woman who’s in tune with all the current music and translates for the rest of us.  (e.g. if you liked Edie Brickell try Miles to Dayton –  Firefly by them heart it!

I borrowed Ben Aaronovitch’s Midnight Riot (Rivers of London in Britain) from the library and had the weirdest night reading, falling asleep and dreaming the story and then waking up and reading some more.  He’s one of the writers for Dr. Who.  I hope they turn this series of books into a series of movies! (Thank you Allison –Brocante Home.)

Barnes and Noble Overview:  Probationary Constable Peter Grant dreams of being a detective in London’s Metropolitan Police. Too bad his superior plans to assign him to the Case Progression Unit, where the biggest threat he’ll face is a paper cut. But Peter’s prospects change in the aftermath of a puzzling murder, when he gains exclusive information from an eyewitness who happens to be a ghost. Peter’s ability to speak with the lingering dead brings him to the attention of Detective Chief Inspector Thomas Nightingale, who investigates crimes involving magic and other manifestations of the uncanny. Now, as a wave of brutal and bizarre murders engulfs the city, Peter is plunged into a world where gods and goddesses mingle with mortals and a long-dead evil is making a comeback on a rising tide of magic.

So more music – Suzanna Lubrano – Tudo Pa Bo (sexy latino beat)…   Electric Guest – This Head I Hold (very 60s go go beat)…  Yukon Blonde – Wind Blows (Sort of like the early 80s sound)…  Zach Heckendorf – Pompeii (Seriously cool guitar playing)…  Rose Cousins – All the Stars (folksy, seriously cool tunes – I can’t even tell what all the instruments are!)  Okay, the coolest American Idol ever, Casey Abrams  Great Bright Morning is on now.  Time to go… an exciting round of deed research awaits. 

Have a great day okay?

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, Family, Goals, Gratitude, Having Fun, Hobbies, Music, Work

Please Leave a Reply

