Killing Lincoln

Killing Lincoln: The Shocking Assassination That Changed America ForeverOn my 101 list is Get 10 People to Recommend Books and Read Them.”  I finished off book one yesterday.  My friend Laurie recommended (not having read it herself mind you) Killing Lincoln by Bill O’Reilly and Martin Dugard.  It was a great read.  Fascinating stuff.  Much more insight to the thoughts of the participants (and more of them) than I realized was possible.  I didn’t know Booth kept a journal.  I didn’t realize Secretary of State Seward was attacked (along with several family members) and nearly died.  I didn’t realize Andrew Jackson was so disliked.  I didn’t realize that the conspiracy theories still abound and have not been laid to rest.  Wow.  I LOVE LOVE LOVE history books that read like novels.  Well done!!

3 Comments

Filed under Books, Goals

3 responses to “Killing Lincoln

  1. freelyfreckled

    Any others from this genre??

    • Well, I recently read Devil in the White City by Erik Larsen was pretty fascinating. 1776 by David McCollough and I haven’t read it yet, but in my “to read” pile is In the Garden of Beasts: Love, Terror, and an American Family in Hitler’s Berlin also by Larsen.

Please Leave a Reply

