the first real day of autumn

Fall has sprung at Hobby Lobby

and while I was stuck inside and didn’t reeally get to enjoy it, I could feel it and really enjoyed it.  I’m a little bummed that the leaves have given no thought to turning, but I am ever so grateful for the cooler weather and the really blue skies.  I wasn’t well on Friday so that day was pretty much a wash, but  we had to run to the doctor’s office and get my prescription and pick up groceries.

Saturday I got to watch G-Man work his magic on the soccer field.  He is just SO fast!  Then we were off to run errands  and of course since we passed by Barnes and Noble had to take a few minutes there.  I picked up Happier at Home: Kiss More, Jump More, Abandon a Project, Read Samuel Johnson, and My Other Experiments in the Practice of Everyday Life by Gretchen Ruben (one of the readings from my 101 list) and read the intro and September.  I like this book even better than her first one!  So back home to take the DIL to work and of course since we were already headed south hit another book store –a used book store we hadn’t seen before — the Used Book Superstore, and I have to give it credit it really is huge and does have a really large selection.  I was thrilled at the number of books I picked up in the dollar section as well (which is usually home to outmoded computer texts and the type of tomes that theoretical physicists and olde english literature professors wouldn’t touch with ten foot poles.)

Rehearsing Perdita and Florizel in Traveling Pants 2

So I ended up with Titanic (from the Boston exhibit because Yes! I needed yet another book on Titanic) Victoria Christmas (by Victoria magazine – two years I forget which), Sunset Book of Cheese (Because I love learning things and this talks about all the varieties etc), The Help (because everyone said it was even better than the movie which I LOVED), The Winter’s Tale (the Muppet and I were watching Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants 2 and I thought this was a Shakespeare work I really want to read sooner rather than later – although I’m saving it for Christmas vacation probably), Number The Stars (my buddy Pam recommended this eons ago), Who’s Who in the Bible (just cause it might prove handy), An Apple From Eve (Imagine a Betty Neels book that I didn’t actually own!),

Most of them I put on the shelf for later, but now sitting on the bookcase beside my bed are:  The Bible, The Book of  Mormon, Teachings of the Presidents of the Church:  George Albert Smith, The Beginning of Better Days by Joseph Smith (w/Sheri Dew and Virginia Hinckley Pearce), Happier at Home, Jesus the Christ by Talmage, Romania:  An Illustrated History, HGTV Sensible Chic – it’s old but encouraging, The Boy Who Came Back from Heaven (thinking I’ll be moving this one to the later pile), An Apple from Eve, Soul Space and the latest HGTV magazine and the Ensign magazine.

I finished off The Old Man and The Sea (I know you love it Muppet, but I think I’m all set reading that one for this lifetime.  I’ll stick with Travels with Charley) and I finished Robin Owens’ Heart Secret, sigh another year before she puts out another one.  So for now, I’m stocked up for a bit on reading material.  I’m adding somewhat deeper thinking books to my repetoire and those take a little longer (The History of Romania is taking forever, but I at least have made it up to Moldavia, Wallachia and Transylvania being united – 1660 – albeit briefly.  The bit on Count Dracul was very interesting.)

So what are you reading these days?

1 Comment

Filed under Books, Movies

One response to “the first real day of autumn

  1. Howdy! I know this is kinda off topic nevertheless I’d figured I’d ask.
    Would you be interested in trading links or maybe guest
    writing a blog post or vice-versa? My blog discusses a lot of the same
    topics as yours and I feel we could greatly benefit from each
    other. If you are interested feel free to shoot me an e-mail.

    I look forward to hearing from you! Superb blog by the way!

Please Leave a Reply

